Child prodigies

with Anthony Marwood and Alexander Melnikov

Guest concertmaster Anthony Marwood and pianist Alexander Melnikov team up as soloists in the concerto for violin and piano by the child prodigy Mendelssohn. After the interval Marwood leads the ensemble in the String Octet by the Romanian child prodigy George Enescu.

vr 10 mei 2019 • Muziekgebouw, Amsterdam - 20.15 uur


Amsterdam Sinfonietta
Anthony Marwood direction and violin
Alexander Melnikov piano

- Thorvalsdottir • Illumine (Dutch première)
- Mendelssohn • Concerto for Violin and Piano
- Enescu • String Octet opus 7 (string orchestra version)

Felix Mendelssohn was a child prodigy. He was just 14 when he wrote the concerto for violin and piano for a house concert, performing the piano part himself. Only two years later he composed his celebrated string octet, while the double concerto lay forgotten in a bureau drawer for many years. More than a century after Mendelssohn’s death it re-emerged; a delightfully sparkling work that is not frequently performed. The violinist Anthony Marwood and master pianist Alexander Melnikov, both familiar guest artists with Amsterdam Sinfonietta, are keen to champion this fine youthful work. After the interval Anthony Marwood leads the ensemble in the octet opus 7 by the Romanian composer George Enescu, who was also a child prodigy.

Lees ons interview met Alexander Melnikov en Anthony Marwood

Share this page

More venues for this programme


Amsterdam Sinfonietta maakt gebruik van Cookies ter verbetering van onze website. Maakt u verder gebruik van onze website dan gaat u hiermee akkoord.
Meer informatie