Larcher and Queyras

Amsterdam Sinfonietta and Jean-Guihen Queyras present a new cello concerto by Thomas Larcher

The French cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras makes another return appearance with Amsterdam Sinfonietta. In this programme he plays Larcher’s newly composed cello concerto as well as Larcher’s Mumien together Paolo Giacometti.

za 13 februari 2016 • Konzerthaus, Wenen - 19.30 uur


The Austrian Thomas Larcher is one of the most prominent figures on the contemporary composing scene. His musical idiom is strongly rooted in tradition, but is also imbued with a powerful and poignant meditative quality. He recently composed works for the San Francisco Philharmonic, Wiener Philharmoniker and the London Proms. Now the master of composition writes a cello concerto for Amsterdam Sinfonietta.

Amsterdam Sinfonietta
Candida Thompson, director and violin
Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello
Paolo Giacometti, piano (Mumien)

- Larcher • Mumien for cello and piano (Dutch première)
- Cerha • Concerto for string orchestra (Dutch première)
- Wolf • Italian Serenade
- Berg • Piano Sonata op.1 (string orchestra arrangement by Wijnand van Klaveren)
- Larcher • Ouroboros for cello and chamber orchestra (world première)

The French cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras appears with Amsterdam Sinfonietta once again. The hallmarks of Queyras’s performing style are virtuosity, refinement and his irresistible delight in playing the cello. In this programme he plays Larcher’s newly composed cello concerto as well as performing Larcher’s Mumien together with the Italian pianist Paolo Giacometti. Mumien recently won the prestigious Lincoln Centre composition prize in New York. ‘Deeply communicative and uncompromising’, was the conclusion of the jury report. The other Austrian composers in the programme Alban Berg, Friedrich Cerha and Hugo Wolf are represented by works for string orchestra.

The new composition Ouroboros by Thomas Larcher is commissioned by Amsterdam Sinfonietta en Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ, with support of AMMODO, Swedish Chamber Orchestra, Lausanne Chamber Orchestra, Norwegian Chamber Orchestra, Munich Chamber Orchestra en Hong Kong Sinfonietta.

Amsterdam Sinfonietta maakt gebruik van Cookies ter verbetering van onze website. Maakt u verder gebruik van onze website dan gaat u hiermee akkoord.
Meer informatie